Acadia National Park
Acadia National Park in Maine originated as the result of the vision and donations from private citizens such as George B. Dorr, Charles W. Eliot and John D. Rockefeller, Jr., who played a critical role in the development of the carriage road system (1915 - 1933). Countless others have contributed their time and resources since so that we all may experience Acadia's raw beauty.
Originally established as Sieur de Monts National Monument in July 1916, it was changed to Lafayette National Park in February 1919. It became known as Acadia National Park in January 1929.
There are three main areas encompassing a total of approximately 46,856 acres. Most of the Park is on Mount Desert Island. There is also Schoodic Peninsula (to the northeast) and Isle au Haut (to the southwest) which is accessible only by boat.
There are two information centers located on Mount Desert Island. The main Visitor Center is near Route 3 in Hulls Cove and the Park Headquarters/Winter Visitor Center is on Route 233 near Eagle Lake.
Acadia National Park Specs:
Acreage: Approximately 46,856 acres
Mountains: 26 in the park
Highest Mountain: Cadillac Mountain at 1,530 ft.
Visitor Center Parking Area GPS:
Latitude 44.409286; Longitude -68.247501
© 2006 - 2014 Greg A. Hartford
All rights are retained by the copyright and trademark owner.
All other copyrights and trademarks are reserved by their respective holders.